Intercollegiate Athletics


Athletic Administration

Jason Boothe Athletic 652-7526
Nate Staheli Faculty Athletic 652-4336
Mo Eckroth Sr. Assoc. AD: Compliance & Senior Women’s 652-7569
Derek Dawes Assoc. AD: External 879-4295
Steve Johnson Assoc. AD: Media 652-7524
Buddy Allen Coordinator of Internal 652-7528
Keric Seegmiller Asst. Coordinator of Media 879-4288
Yvonne Strahle Athletics 879-4275
Women's Sports Men's Sports
Cross CountryBasketball
GolfCross Country


Head Coach: Shay McCluremcclure@dixie.edu435-652-7746

Women’s Basketball

Head Coach: Jenny Thigpinthigpin@dixie.edu435-652-7920

Men’s Basketball

Head Coach: Jon Judkinsjudkins@dixie.edu435-652-7781


Head Coach: Chris Pfatenhauerpfatenhauer@dixie.edu435-652-7530


Head Coach: Randy Simkinsrsimkins@dixie.edu435-652-7543

Women’s Soccer

Head Coach: Kacey Binghamkbingham@dixie.edu435-652-7531

Men’s Soccer

Head Coach: Josh Pittmanpittman@dixie.edu435-652-7787

Women’s Volleyball

Head Coach: Robyn Felderfelder@dixie.edu435-652-7783

Men’s Golf

Head Coach: Brad Sutterfieldsutterfield@dixie.edu435-669-2826

Women’s Tennis

Head Coach: Eric Peltonpelton@dixie.edu435-773-2002

Men’s & Women’s Cross Country

Head Coach: Justin Deckerjdecker@dixie.edu435-272-6562

Women’s Golf

Head Coach: Rachel Harmonharmon@dixie.edu801-859-4653


Head Coach: Kristi Shawshaw@dixie.edu435-757-1155

Dixie Dance Team

Head Coach: Kori Esplinkori@esplin.net435-619-7552

The Athletic Department at Dixie State is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II level. We strive to help student-athletes define, shape and achieve educational and life goals, contributing to the University’s personalized and excellent teaching in a learning environment where all student-athletes can become passionate about their individual educational and athletic endeavors. Athletic teams and programs are designed to fuel students’ desire to succeed on their various fields and courts of play, excel in the classroom while progressing toward achieving academic success, all while becoming and serving as outstanding and exemplary members of the community. In essence, we strive to build champions in the classroom, in athletic competition, in the community, and in life.

DSU is a member of the Pacific West Conference for all sports except Football. Football is a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. Since joining the NCAA in 2006, Red Storm teams have won 16 Pacific West Conference Championships and have made 29 appearances in the NCAA tournament.  Further, the athletic department won the prestigious Pacific West Conference Community Engagement Award in 2009, 2011, and 2012 recognizing the outstanding service performed by the student-athletes, coaches and administrators in the southern Utah community, as well as the 2013 and 2014 NCAA Award of Excellence for Community Engagement.


  • Burns Arena (Basketball) seats 4,779 people and was built in 1986. It is one of the finest venues in DII and has already hosted several nationally televised games on CBS TV.
  • Hansen Stadium (Football & Soccer) seats nearly 5,000 people and was built in 1983. New, state-of-the-art field turf was installed in 2010.  The field is named after former Football coach Sark Arslanian.
  • Hurst Field (Baseball) seats nearly 2,200 people, was built in 1995, and is known as one of the finest collegiate facilities in Division II.
  • The Student Activity Center (Volleyball) seats nearly 1,000 people and was built in 1956. It was home to the basketball team until 1985.
  • Karl Brooks Field (Softball) seats 250 people and was built in 1992 in a joint venture with St. George City. In 2007 a state of the art clubhouse was built with in-kind donations from many people within the community.