Intercollegiate Athletics

http://dixiestateathletics.com

Website: http://dixiestateathletics.com

Athletic Administration

Jason Boothe Athletic Director boothe@dixie.edu (435) 652-7526
Nate Staheli Faculty Athletic Representative nstaheli@dixie.edu (435) 652-4336
Mo Eckroth Sr. Assoc. AD: Compliance & Senior Women’s Administrator eckroth@dixie.edu (435) 652-7569
Wendi Bulkley Assoc. AD: External Relations wendi.bulkely@dixie.edu (435) 879-4295
Steve Johnson Assoc. AD: Media Relations johnsons@dixie.edu (435) 652-7524
Katie Bornstein Coordinator of Internal Operations katie.bornstein@dixie.edu (435) 652-7528
Keric Seegmiller Asst. Coordinator of Media Relations keric.seegmiller@dixie.edu (435) 879-4288
Cindy Lacayo Admin Support Specialist Cindy.Lacayo@dixie.edu (435) 879-4275
Women's Sports Men's Sports
Basketball Baseball
Cross Country Basketball
Golf Cross Country
Soccer Football
Softball Golf
Tennis Soccer
Volleyball
Track
Swimming
Sport Head Coach Email Phone
Football Shay McClure mcclure@dixie.edu 435-652-7746
Women’s Basketball JD Gustin JD.Gustin@dixie.edu 435-652-7920
Men’s Basketball Jon Judkins judkins@dixie.edu 435-652-7781
Baseball Chris Pfatenhauer pfatenhauer@dixie.edu 435-652-7530
Softball Randy Simkins rsimkins@dixie.edu 435-652-7543
Women’s Soccer Gerry Lucey gerry.lucey@dixie.edu 435-652-7531
Men’s Soccer Jonny Broadhead Jonathan.Broadhead@dixie.edu 435-652-7787
Women’s Volleyball Robyn Felder felder@dixie.edu 435-652-7783
Men’s Golf Brad Sutterfield sutterfield@dixie.edu 435-669-2826
Women’s Tennis Eric Pelton pelton@dixie.edu 435-773-2002
Women’s Cross Country & Track and Men's Cross Country Justin Decker jdecker@dixie.edu 435-272-6562
Women’s Golf Lindsey Stucki lindsey.stucki@dixie.edu 435-216-2947
Women's Swimming TBA
Cheerleaders Kristi Shaw shaw@dixie.edu 435-757-1155
Dixie Blaze Dance Team Kori Esplin kori@esplin.net 435-619-7552

The Athletic Department at Dixie State is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II level. We strive to help student-athletes define, shape, and achieve educational and life goals, contributing to the University’s personalized and excellent teaching in a learning environment where all student-athletes can become passionate about their individual educational and athletic endeavors. Athletic teams and programs are designed to fuel students’ desire to succeed on their various fields and courts of play, excel in the classroom while progressing toward achieving academic success, all while becoming and serving as outstanding and exemplary members of the community. In essence, we strive to build champions in the classroom, in athletic competition, in the community, and in life.

The 2018-19 school year will mark DSU's first year as a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC). Prior to joining the RMAC, DSU was a member of the Pacific West Conference where, since joining the NCAA in 2006, Trailblazer teams won 19 Conference Championships and have made 36 appearances in the NCAA tournament.  Further, the athletic department won the prestigious Pacific West Conference Community Engagement Award in 2009, 2011, 2012, and 2016 recognizing the outstanding service performed by the student-athletes, coaches and administrators in the southern Utah community, as well as the 2013 and 2014 NCAA Award of Excellence for Community Engagement.

Facilities

  • Burns Arena (Basketball) seats 4,779 people and was built in 1986. It is one of the finest venues in DII and has already hosted several nationally televised games on CBS TV.
  • Trailblazer Stadium (Football & Soccer) seats nearly 10,000 people and was built in 1983. The field is named after former Football coach Sark Arslanian.
  • Bruce Hurst Field (Baseball) seats nearly 2,200 people, was built in 1995, and is known as one of the finest collegiate facilities in Division II.
  • The Student Activity Center (Volleyball) seats nearly 1,000 people and was built in 1956. It was home to the basketball team until 1985.
  • Karl Brooks Field (Softball) seats 250 people and was built in 1992 in a joint venture with St. George City. In 2007 a state of the art clubhouse was built with in-kind donations from many people within the community.